Meeting David in Florence: The Capital of Arts

Vera Mirzoyan
6 min readOct 27, 2023

I arrived in Florence by train; it took about 2 hours and 20 minutes from Venice.

This was like waking up from my sweet Venetian dream, but as an early-morning person, I like to have my morning coffee, haha…

Do not miss my Venetian fairy tale.

On my first day in Florence, I had to manage to visit the Duomo (The Cathedral of Santa Maria del Fiore) before my visit to the Galleria dell’Accademia. I had hardly managed to book a skip-the-line ticket to the gallery to see Michelangelo’s David.

Duomo di Firenze: The Cathedral of Santa Maria del Fiore

The entrance to the Cathedral was free, but there was a big line. I waited for about 40 minutes but I managed to go inside and enjoy that huge masterpiece — the dome from inside. Before I was watching a series called “The Medici” and I was impressed by how they built the dome of the cathedral. So, it was a must-see for me and it met my expectations. It was really huge and impressive. I didn’t climb the Dome or the Bell Tower, but there are different options of tours that offer a great experience (I think so). This time I chose just to see the cathedral from outside and inside.

I had to see the dome on my first day in Florence because I had 2 days to spend there; the second day was Sunday and the Cathedral was closed. Anyway, it was meant to be, and I did.

I even had time to eat something and I chose to wait in another line (for more than 30 minutes) to get one of the best street food experiences in the world at All’antico Vinaio.

This is a legendary Florentine sandwich shop considered to be the “home of the world’s best sandwiches”. Not being a fan of street food, I liked it.

Let’s Meet David — Michelangelo’s masterpiece

Then it’s time to go to see David — Michelangelo’s masterpiece… I want to find words to describe it, but… Looking at this really huge (17 feet tall) marble sculpture, you see one thing for sure — the master had an extraordinary talent for representing the anatomy of the body in accurate detail. Michelangelo’s art is based on the perfect imitation of nature. Imagine how deeply he had to study the human body, to be able to represent each muscle, tendon, or blood vessel in marble.

I’m sorry for the humble description… your eyes need to see it.

Sunset of Ponte Vecchio and Arno River

In the evening I walked around and arrived near the Ponte Vecchio (from Italian: “Old Bridge”). This is the first segmental arch bridge in the West that crosses over the Arno River and the oldest bridge (1345) in Florence, Italy. It’s the home of many jewelry shops and above the shops, there is a secret passageway known as the Corridoio Vasariano (the Vasari Corridor), connecting the Palazzo Vecchio with the Palazzo Pitti.

The idea of this enclosed passageway was motivated by the Grand Duke’s desire to move freely between his residence and the government palace because he felt insecure in public.

Enjoying the sunset near the Arno River with a great view of the bridge, listening to street artists, and eating Italian gelato was a very nice experience.

Missing Uffizi: Museum Lines in Florence

The next morning, I’m again near Ponte Vecchio because I want to visit the Uffizi Gallery which is next to the bridge. I hadn’t booked a ticket in advance, and it was found out I couldn’t do it for that day because every first Sunday of each month, the entrance to the National Museums and cultural sites run by the state is free of charge in Italy. Can you imagine how huge the line is these days? I went to the gallery when it was still closed and the line was already very long with a few circles around the building. I waited for about 15 minutes then decided not to waste hours waiting and I missed the Uffizi gallery.

Florence from Above: Piazzale Michelangelo and Armenian Church

I decided to go to an Armenian church I learned about in San Lazzaro. And you know what? I had to hike (literally hike) to reach the church. Of course, an Armenian church couldn’t be easily available, located in the city center. Instead, it’s on the top of a hill with a great view to the city.

Church of the Armenian Saint Minias of Florence and the view from there

I’m speaking about the Church of the Armenian Saint Minias of Florence (in the photo above) which is near the Piazzale Michelangelo. As you may see, it doesn’t represent Armenian church architecture, but it’s interesting to see Armenian heritage abroad. As I was near the Piazzale Michelangelo I decided to check the panorama from this viewpoint and I loved Florence from above.

So I decided to come back here in the evening and enjoy the sunset. It was worth it although the previous sunset from Ponte Vecchio was better in colors.

Florence in My Eyes!

To conclude, I loved Florence. I loved the city from above but when I was walking through the streets it was dark to me. Maybe I would like the city from the inside if it was a late autumn season, but I didn’t like the heat in the “darkness”. Maybe I just couldn’t get closer to this city and understand its vibe.

It seems like Florence is a woman — beautiful, elegant, and artistic. She loves arts and museums, knows her worth, dresses well (19th-century fashion), and attracts people with her smartness and grace. Some people (including me) aren’t enough brave to talk to her but accept her charm and enjoy her presence from a little far away.

Anyway, I’m happy Firenze became my home for 2 days.

The next morning, Florence sent me away to Rome!

--

--

Vera Mirzoyan

The Sunflower Girl 🌻I never try to find more readers for my writings, but I try to write the best writing for my readers! ig: sunflo.wer___